After a dramatic election night, Bromley finishes with 1.5 Labour MPs, to 2 Conservatives. This follows the expansion of Clive Efford’s Eltham constituency to include Chislehurst.

In Orpington, Gareth Bacon retained a seat that the Conservatives have held almost continuously since its creation in 1945. A swing towards Labour was not enough in one of the safest Tory seats in the country, even with a strong Reform showing (the party finished third with just under 20% of the vote).

The new Bromley and Biggin Hill seat saw a razor-thin victory for the Conservatives’ Peter Fortune – a former Bromley councillor and London Assembly Member for the area – by a margin of 302 votes over Labour’s Oana Olaru-Holmes. While there was again a clear swing away from the Tories and a Reform surge, this proved not quite enough to overturn their majority in an area that has historically been a stronghold for the party.

The newly-created Beckenham and Penge seat was seen as a key Labour target following boundary changes, which added parts of the former Labour Lewisham West and Penge seat. Labour candidate Liam Conlon was elected to the new constituency with nearly 50% of the vote – building on the party’s success in the area in the 2022 local elections and signposting a stronger challenge to Conservative dominance in the 2026 local elections.

Subscribe to our newsletter

Stay up-to-date with the latest news in the sector